Board & Committees

The Lake-Sumter MPO Governing Board consists of 29 board members (16 voting and 13 non-voting) representing the communities of the Lake-Sumter region. Each member government appoints elected representation to the MPO Governing Board, along with an alternate representative.

The apportionment of membership on the Lake-Sumter MPO Governing Board includes one voting representative from each of the seven most populated cities in Lake County, including Clermont, Eustis, Lady Lake, Leesburg, Minneola, Mount Dora and Tavares. The seven (7) least populated cities of Lake County (Astatula, Groveland, Fruitland Park, Mascotte, Montverde, Umatilla, Howey-in-the-Hills), share one at-large vote that rotates alphabetically each year. An At- Large Representative voting position rotates annually among the five (5) Sumter County municipalities of Bushnell, Center Hill, Coleman, Webster and Wildwood. In addition, the five members of the Lake County Board of County Commissioners and two designated County Commissioners from the Sumter County Board of County Commissioners are each voting members. During 2012, Astatula and Bushnell hold the rotating votes. Ex-officio board members from Lake County Schools, Sumter District Schools and the Florida Central Railroad round out the membership of the Lake-Sumter MPO Governing Board.

The MPO Governing Board typically meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month and all meetings are open to the public. Regular meeting dates and times may be changed by action of the MPO to accommodate holidays and/or other reasons. Therefore, please consult the calendar to verify meeting dates and times.