

MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, December 11, 2024 Lake~Sumter MPO 1300 Citizens Blvd, Suite 175 Leesburg, FL 34748

<u>Members Present:</u> Commissioner Anthony Sabatini Commissioner Sean Parks Commissioner Leslie Campione Commissioner Timothy Morris Commissioner Don Wiley Commissioner Deb Butterfield Mayor Keith Keogh City Commissioner Ed Freeman Jimmy Burry Councilmember Cal Rolfson (Chair) Council Member Sandy Gamble (1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair) City Commissioner Joe Elliott (Sumter At Large Rep) Councilor Tim Everline Councilor Jon Arnold

<u>Members Absent:</u> Commissioner Kirby Smith Councilmember Michael Gonzalez City Commissioner Gary Ashcraft Councilmember Katherine Adams (Lake At Large Rep) Councilor Erick Hernandez Vice-Mayor Mitchell Mack City Commissioner John Mobilian Councilmember John Mobilian Councilmember Ellen Cruz Vacant Councilmember Charles Felton Vacant Matt Schwerin Board Member Tyler Brandenburg Board Member Sally Moss

\*Denotes non-voting members \*\*Denotes ex-officio, non-voting member Representing: Lake County BCC Lake County BCC Lake County BCC Lake County BCC Sumter County BCC Sumter County BCC Sumter County BCC City of Groveland Town of Lady Lake City of Groveland Town of Lady Lake City of Leesburg City of Mount Dora City of Tavares City of Tavares City of Wildwood Town of Howey-in-the-Hills\* Town of Howey-in-the-Hills\*

Lake County BCC City of Clermont City of Eustis City of Umatilla City of Minneola\* Town of Astatula\* City of Fruitland Park\* City of Fruitland Park\* City of Mascotte\* City of Mascotte\* City of Bushnell City of Coleman\* City of Coleman\* City of Webster\* Florida Central Railroad\*\* Lake County Schools\*\* <u>Staff:</u> Michael Woods Doris LeMay

Executive Director Financial Coordinator

<u>Call to Order/Invocation/Pledge of Allegiance/Notice/Roll Call/Chairman's Announcements/Executive</u> <u>Director's Announcements</u>

The meeting of the Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) was called to order at 2:02 p.m. by Cal Rolfson Chair. Followed by a moment of silence and the pledge of allegiance. Staff announced the meeting was properly noticed. The roll was called, at which time it was noted a quorum was present (10 voting members present).

I. **OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENT** – Tim Everline presented various questions Pertaining to Palm Central and Rt19 in Howey-in-the-Hills. T.J. Fish inquired about SR 19 Traffic Study. Philip Fulmer concerns about SR 19.

## II. ACTION ITEMS

A. Consideration to approve the October 23, 2024, MPO Governing Board Minutes

**Motion** was made by Keith Keogh, seconded by Joe Elliott, and carried by a vote of 10-0, the Lake Sumter MPO approved Item A of Consent Agenda as presented.

B. Approval of the 2025 MPO Governing Board and Executive Committee Calendar.

**Motion** was made by Sandy Gamble, seconded by Commissioner Don Wiley, and carried by a vote of 10-0, the Lake Sumter MPO approved Item B of the Consent Agenda as presented.

- C. Review and Approval of the proposed 2025 MPO Officers and Appointments as follows:
  - a. Chair Sean Parks, LCBOCC, CFMPOA, MPOAC
  - b. Chair Elect Sandy Gamble, City of Tavares CFMPOA, MPOAC Alternate
  - c. 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair Don Wiley, SCBOCC, CFMPOA, MPOAC Alternate
  - d. 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair Chandra Myers, City of Clermont CFMPOA Alternate
  - e. Past Chair Cal Rolfson, City of Mount Dora CFMPOA Alternate
  - f. Lake County At Large Rep Mitchell Mack, City of Astatula
  - g. Sumter County At Large Rep Victoria Summerlin City of Bushnell
  - h. Lake County Transportation Disadvantaged Coordinating Board Chair Leslie Campione, LCBOCC, CFMPOA Alternate
  - i. Sumter County Transportation Disadvantaged Coordinating Board Chair Jeff Bogue SCBOCC

**Motion** was made by Jimmy Burry, seconded by Ed Freeman, and carried by a vote of 10-0, the Lake Sumter MPO approved the 2025 MPO Slate of Officers. D. FY 2025-2029 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendment #3. Nick Lepp HDR provided a brief overview of the TIP Amendment. Bill Hearndon, Lake County provided additional information on the grant.

**Motion** was made by Commissioner Leslie Campione, seconded by Sandy Gamble, and carried by a roll call vote of 10-0, the Lake Sumter MPO approved Resolution 2024-11 Amending the 2025-2029 TIP.

E. MPO Executive Director Annual Evaluation – Rachel Bartolowits, Lake County Attorneys office provided the Executive Committees recommendation of a 10% merit increase effective January 1, 2025, for Michael Woods. Discussion continued.

**Motion** was made by Commissioner Don Wiley, seconded by Ed Freeman, and carried by a vote of 10-0, the Lake Sumter MPO approved the 10% merit increase effective January 1, 2025, for Michael Woods

## III. DISCUSSION ITEMS:

- A. MPO Calendar of plans and projects for 2025 Nick Lepp, HDR, Mike Vaudo, Kimley Horn & Associates, Inc.
- B. FDOT Tentative Work Program Michael Woods

## IV. REPORTS, PRESENTATIONS

- A. FDOT Reports Charles Koppernolle
- B. Florida Turnpike Enterprise Siaosi Fine
- C. Lake County Transit Report
- D. Sumter County Transit Report
- E. New MPO Studies and Planning Area Projects

## V. BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS: Various Board members wished Merry Christmas

**VII. ADJOURNMENT NEXT MEETING: February 26, 2025 @ 2:00 P.M.** There being no further business to be brought to the attention of the Lake~Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization the meeting was adjourned at 3:43 p.m.